Home / News / It’s party time as Samba de Amigo shakes its way onto Switch

It’s party time as Samba de Amigo shakes its way onto Switch

Yes it’s finally time to party down once again, with Sega’s maraca (read: joy-con) shakin’ rhythm game Samba de Amigo.

Shake and bake

There might not be any actual maracas this time around for Sambe de Amigo (thought here is third-party stuff), but some joy-cons will surely suffice as the series makes its way to the Nintendo Switch. Fans can shake their controllers along to some 40 hits covering genres like “EDM, pop, Latin, and more”. Aside from the stock titles too, there will be plenty of downloadable content for Samba, so you’ll be able to expand your library post-launch.

But even without expansions, Samba de Amigo offers up plenty of content. Fans will find “a wide variety of minigames and challenges to enjoy”, plus extra costumes and accessories to unlock, and the World Tour mode. That’s a first for Samba, delivering a suite of online features.

Aside from the base edition of the rhythm title, there’s also a Digital Deluxe Edition, plus upgrade paths and some of that aforementioned DLC. Yes, there’s DLC on day one, though it’s limited.

Here’s how it all shakes out for the title, which is out right now on Nintendo Switch:

Digital Deluxe Edition ($49.99 USD MSRP)

Those who purchase the jam-packed Samba de Amigo: Party Central Digital Deluxe Edition ($49.99 USD MSRP) on the Nintendo eShop will receive the following:

  • The Standard Edition of the game
  • Sonic the Hedgehog™️ Music Pack
    • “Open Your Heart” from Sonic Adventure™
    • “Reach For The Stars (Re-Colors)” from Sonic Colors™: Ultimate
    • “I’m Here” from Sonic Frontiers™️
  • SEGA Music Pack (available September 27)
    • “Baka Mitai (Taxi Driver Edition)” from Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio
    • “Go Go Cheer Girl!” from Space Channel 5™: Part 2
    • “Rhythm Thief Theme” from Rhythm Thief & the Emperor’s Treasure™
  • Sonic the Hedgehog Costume & Accessories Pack
  • Tails Costume & Accessories Pack
  • Super Monkey Ball™️ Costume & Accessories Pack
  • Puyo Puyo™️ Accessories Pack
  • Space Channel 5 Costume & Accessories Pack

A Digital Standard Edition and a Physical Standard Edition (both $39.99 MSRP) are also now available. In addition, the following downloadable content can be individually purchased starting today on the Nintendo eShop:

  • Deluxe Upgrade Bundle ($11.99 USD MSRP)
    • Includes the bonus items the Digital Deluxe Edition provides over the Standard Edition. 
  • Sonic the Hedgehog Music Pack ($4.99 USD MSRP)
  • Japanese Music Pack ($4.99 USD MSRP)
    • “Kaikai Kitan” by Eve
    • “MATSUKEN SAMBA II” by Ken Matsudaira
    • “KING” by GUMI
  • Plus more DLC to be announced!

Sega press release

About Jason Micciche

Jason's been knee deep in videogames since he was but a lad. Cutting his teeth on the pixely glory that was the Atari 2600, he's been hack'n'slashing and shoot'em'uping ever since. Mainly an FPS and action guy, Jason enjoys the occasional well crafted title from every genre.

Check Also

IMAX freezes over, as tickets go on sale for Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire

The latest Ghostbusters flick is coming up fast, and fans will be able to catch …