Home / News / Harmonix announces new tracks and retail editions for Rock Band 4

Harmonix announces new tracks and retail editions for Rock Band 4

Don’t want that new guitar controller? That’s okay, because Rock Band 4 won’t force you to buy one. And while we’re talking music controllers, have a look at some new tracks that you’ll be able to play with them too.

So we’ve already seen the announcement of a guitar bundle for RB4, as well as a band in a box pack, which includes all the trimmings (guitar, drums and mic) as well as a copy of the game. But what happens if you don’t really want all that stuff? Since the game doesn’t make you upgrade, and is already compatible with most of the instruments out there from older Rock Band games, there are probably more than a few fans who’s rather use the stock of plastic instruments that they already have stowed away in storage than buy new ones.

And to that end, Harmonix has announced that pre-orders have kicked off for the standalone game. So you’ll be able to buy just the disc if you do so desire.

“By offering game-only options and supporting seamless compatibility with previous-generation music game controllers, we’re thrilled to be offering the best value for longtime music gaming fans this holiday,” said Harmonix CEO, Steve Janiak.

The base version of the game will run you $59.99 USD for the PS4. Buying on the Xbox One? That’s going to cost you just a tad more and will be priced in at $79.99 USD. Why the extra? Well it turns out that, in order to support the backwards compatibility with the old Xbox 360 stuff, you need to have an adapter for the Xbox One. You’ll find that little dongle packed in with the game. The PS4 version doesn’t need that attachment though, and that’s what makes up the difference in price.

As for the new tunes:

The above will all be found natively o the RB4 disc itself, nothing to download, and includes (in case you missed it):

  • .38 Special – “Caught Up In You”
  • Arctic Monkeys – “Arabella”
  • The Both – “Milwaukee”
  • Cake – “Short Skirt/Long Jacket”
  • Little Big Town – “Little White Church”
  • Lucius – “Turn It Around”
  • The Mighty Mighty Bosstones – “The Impression That I Get”
  • The Protomen – “Light Up The Night”
  • Soundgarden – “Superunknown”
  • Tijuana Sweetheart – “Pistol Whipped”

And remember too, that Rock Band 4 is not only compatible with most of the music controllers out there, it’s also compatible with a good chunk of the songs already available. With all that, the game will have a potential catalog on launch day (depends on which songs you own of course) of over 1500 tracks. Now that’s a lot of strumming.

Rock Band 4 hits retail on October 6th for the Xbox One and PS4.

About Jason Micciche

Jason's been knee deep in videogames since he was but a lad. Cutting his teeth on the pixely glory that was the Atari 2600, he's been hack'n'slashing and shoot'em'uping ever since. Mainly an FPS and action guy, Jason enjoys the occasional well crafted title from every genre.

Check Also

Nintendo Download: Down to Earth

Another edition of Microsoft’s Grounded lands on Switch this week, along with a TMNT arcade …