Home / Comics / DC and Marvel Comics’ team-ups are back, with an omnibus double-dose

DC and Marvel Comics’ team-ups are back, with an omnibus double-dose

Impossible? Apparently not, as Marvel and DC have once again teamed up, this time for a pair of classics-packed omnibuses.

Not a dream, not an imaginary tale

If your’e a comics fan, then you’ve no doubt wondered if we’d ever see the reprinting of some of the industry’s greatest crossovers and team-ups. We’re of course talking about DC and Marvel’s joint-ventures from decades gone by, including the multiverse-mashup that was Amalgam. Well, hold on to your socks, because somehow it’s actually happening.

Yep, long the fodder of social media dreams, the two publishing giants will be getting together once again, though this time it’s not for something original. Instead, fans will be getting a pair of omnibuses, each one centering on a different angle from the companies joint histories.

The first will bring together various one-shot crossovers from the 70s through 2k, while the second is all about that Amalgam Age. If you’re a long time fan of either publisher, then you know just how cool this is, and how loaded with history these books will be.

If you doin’t have your originals, or you missed the time period altogether, then you’re gonna want to check these out.

DC Versus Marvel Omnibus

Who would win: Superman versus Spider-Man? Batman versus Captain America? The X-Men meeting the Teen Titans? DC Versus Marvel Omnibus collects crossovers between the core DC and Marvel characters, from 1976’sSuperman vs. the Amazing Spider-Man to 2000’s Batman/Daredevil. Included are stories from some of comics’ most revered talents, namely Dennis O’Neil, George Pérez, Dan Jurgens, Chris Claremont, Walter Simonson, J.M. DeMatteis, Mark Bagley, Gerry Conway, John Romita Jr., and more. DC and Marvel fans alike can’t miss these thrilling pieces of unearthed comic book history!

DC Versus Marvel Omnibus collects Batman/Captain America #1, Batman/Daredevil #1, Batman/Punisher: Lake of Fire #1, Batman/Spider-Man #1, Daredevil/Batman #1, DC Special Series #27, Darkseid vs. Galactus: The Hunger #1, Green Lantern/Silver Surfer: Unholy Alliances #1, Incredible Hulk vs. Superman #1, Marvel and DC Present Featuring the Uncanny X-Men and the New Teen Titans #1, Marvel Treasury Edition #28, Punisher/Batman: Deadly Knights #1, Silver Surfer/Superman #1, Spider-Man and Batman #1, Superman vs. the Amazing Spider-Man #1, andSuperman/Fantastic Four #1.

DC Comics press release

DC/Marvel: The Amalgam Age Omnibus

DC/Marvel: The Amalgam Age Omnibus features stories, first told in 1996, of the two superhero universes fused together into a new Amalgam Universe, combining DC’s and Marvel’s heroes, villains, and mythologies. The result was a series of unforgettable one-shot comic books starring the likes of Dark Claw (Batman and Wolverine), Super Soldier (Superman and Captain America), Iron Lantern (Iron Man and Green Lantern), and many more! These stories, from creators such as Peter David, Dan Jurgens, Mark Waid, Dave Gibbons, Ron Marz, José Luis García-López, Gary Frank, Bill Sienkiewicz, Claudio Castellini, and more, represent one of the most fun and unlikely periods in comic book history, and now are available in one omnibus. Included in this volume are the historic DC Versus Marvel miniseries and its sequels, perfect for fans of both DC and Marvel!

DC/Marvel: The Amalgam Age Omnibus collects DC Versus Marvel #1-4, DC/Marvel: All Access #1-4, Unlimited Access #1-4, Bat-Thing #1, Bruce Wayne: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. #1, Bullets and Bracelets #1, Challengers of the Fantastic #1, Doctor Strangefate #1, Iron Lantern #1, Legends of the Dark Claw #1, Lobo the Duck #1, Speed Demon #1, Spider-Boy #1, Super Soldier #1, Thorion of the New Asgods #1, X-Patrol #1, and more, plus a treasure trove of behind-the-scenes material.

DC Comics press release

Both of the above volumes are expected to arrive in stores on August 6th of this year, and should be up for pre-order now. Also worth noting is that you can grab a different cover illustration depending on if you buy from your LCS or not. The direct-market-exclusive covers will be “available only in local comic book shops”, so if you want ’em, you might want to hit those pre-orders now.

About Jason Micciche

Jason's been knee deep in videogames since he was but a lad. Cutting his teeth on the pixely glory that was the Atari 2600, he's been hack'n'slashing and shoot'em'uping ever since. Mainly an FPS and action guy, Jason enjoys the occasional well crafted title from every genre.

Check Also

Season 5 brings the “Storms” to Mortal Kombat 1 today

Along with the playable version of Ermac, Mortal Kombat 1’s fifth season dawns today for …